Raising Girls

The complications of raising our little girls into strong, self reliant, confident women are many.  There are tons of unanswered questions. I don’t know about you, but for the most part, I find myself questioning my every move, every.single.day.  Making sure they eat right, have a warm bed, and are loved totally and completely… that’s the easy stuff.  I’ve got that down to a science.  It’s the influences that I don’t have control of…  The other kids at school, the teachers, their friends and maybe even enemies, tv, radio, print ads…it’s never ending.  In the end, my girls know I love them just they way they are, the opinions that matter most are the ones that I have no control over.  We hope they get it, we hope they understand how wonderful they are and how smart and creative and interesting, but it’s not always that simple.

A friend of mine posted a trailer to the documentary, Miss Representation, on Facebook today.  It was sad, but not all that shocking.  We are raising our girls at a time when the media has more influence than ever.  The media decides what we should look like, how we should act and without realizing it, we are buying into it… our kids are buying into it.  Girls are being told how to look and act, what’s attractive or not, that being smart and successful isn’t of value unless you are beautiful and sexy.  Oy.  I could go on and on.  I’m angry and annoyed and sad.

Watch the video.  Share it.  It’s worth it. (Sorry about the commercial, I preferred this trailer over the shorter version)

Leave a Reply

