What is Pho?

Pho is the current obsession in the Patton home.  We grab Tony’s mom and head out at least 2 times a week, not to mention I eat it for lunch a lot.  The kids love it too, which as some of you may know, isn’t an easy task.  Lately, people have been asking what exactly is Pho… so I found it on Wikipedia and thought I would share.  If you get the chance to have some, you should, it’s yummmmmmy and healthy and filling and warm…and perfect for wintertime.

The below is completely stolen from Wikipedia…

Phở is served in a bowl with white rice noodles in clear beef broth, with thin cuts of beef (steak, fatty flank, lean flank, brisket).

Vietnamese dishes are meals typically served with lots of greens, herbs, vegetables and various other accompaniments such as dipping sauces, hot and spicy pastes, and flavor enhancements such as a squeeze of lime or lemon. The dish is garnished with ingredients such as green onions, white onions, coriander, Thai basil (húng quế) (should not be confused with sweet basilVietnamese: húng chó or húng dổi), fresh Thai chili peppers, lemon or lime wedges, bean sprouts, and leaves of culantro (ngò gai) (should not be confused with cilantro or coriander – which is called ngò rí in Vietnamese. The coriander plant is used just for its seeds – hạt ngò to prepare the broth, but not its leaves).

5 thoughts on “What is Pho?

  1. I so thought of you the other night – I was watching the Food Network and Pho was being made. Yeah, I started drooling and was suddenly starving. Now I need to find a place in Nashville that can hook me up!

  2. I too had no idea what pho was until last week when I had to wikipedia it myself to see what you have been obsessed with eating.
    PS-I think I’ll pass…=) I’m not quite as picky as Ms Pick-A-Lot Lesley, but I’m still picky!

Leave a Reply

