Body Image.

What can I say, all women at one time or another, have had issues with body image.  I grew up looking at these stick figure woman/girls assuming it was a realistic goal for me.  Some women are naturally thin and can look like that.  But the majority of us will never ever ever ever even come close and we spend years upon years buying into unhealthy diets, counting calories upon calories and making ourselves miserable.  I’m 34 years old now, a month away from 35 and my world has REVOLVED around food and guilt and scales and unattainable numbers…  I hate it and I can’t say that I’m done, but slowly I’m coming to terms with how I look, how I feel and what I want to do from this point on for me.  I want to be healthy.  I want to eat right and exercise and if I lose weight BONUS and if I don’t, who cares.  I know my husband loves my body and I’m growing a tad more comfortable with it myself… what more can you ask for, right?

Today, while  I was waiting for Zoe to get her hair cut, I picked up the November issue of Glamour magazine.  I ran across an article in regards to the September 2009 issue of the magazine and a model that was used for an article about body image.  The model looked like the average American woman.  She wasn’t thin, but she was by no means fat… she was normal.  The magazine was stunned by the response they got from just that one picture.  Woman from all over American were ecstatic and relieved to have a realistic body representing them.  I agreed.  She was beautiful all of her and even more so because of how much she looked like a normal, healthy woman.  It’s about time.  Raising two little girls, I constantly wonder what effect the models of today will have on them.  Maybe just maybe  things will start to change and it’ll stop being an issue for young girls.

So, if you get a chance and are interested, follow the links above and take a peek.  Maybe it’ll make you feel better about yourself and maybe you don’t need see it to feel better and if that’s the case, you’re a lucky woman!!!!

One thought on “Body Image.

Leave a Reply

