Sick. No Joke.

Thursday of last week I was feeling a bit icky… not too bad, but very nauseous and under the weather… by Friday I was miserable.  I woke up at 3am and could barely walk, the pain in my stomach completely out of control.  I went back to sleep and woke up again a little over an hour later and was dry heaving and crying and just a mess… I was however, able to fall back asleep for a little bit, but kept waking up feeling more horrible than the last time.  When 6am rolled around, I was not doing very good.  I left a message for my boss saying that I would be going to the doctor before coming to work, but would be in eventually.  I got an appointment for 9am, which felt like the longest wait of my life.  Luckily, Tony stayed with me and drove me to the doctor.  I was convinced it was just food poison or something I ate that didn’t agree with me…  My doctor, looked me over and talked to me for a very short period, before telling me to have my husband drive me directly to the hospital.  Dr. Wikler was pretty positive that my appendix no longer wanted to be a part of my body!

He was right.  Tony and I went to the hospital and by noon we were planning for surgery.  The CT Scan showed the beginning of infection and that my appendix without a doubt needed to be removed.  SUCKS.  At 4pm I was wheeled into the operating room, scared shitless.  I’m a baby when it comes to this crap.  Luckily, it was a quick surgery and by 5pm I was done and my sickly little appendix removed.  I stayed at the hospital Friday night, but was discharged Saturday at 5pm.  A very short stay.  I’m tired and in pain, but I’m home.  I have three small incisions and sadly am swollen bad enough that I look pregnant again.  But it’s only day 2, it just gets better from here.

In case you were wondering where I disappeared to… now you know.  I know I owe several friends and family phone calls and e-mails and I am trying to catch up.  But at least here is a run down of what’s been occurring in my little neighborhood the past couple of days.

5 thoughts on “Sick. No Joke.

  1. Holy shit! That sucks the big one! I’m glad you went to the doctor Friday morning and he was able to diagnose you quickly. Take care of yourself and rest up. I hope you’ll be up and back to normal soon!

Leave a Reply

