Picky Schmicky.

I am a huge fan of Sushi. I think I have mentioned this once or twice before, maybe. When I was younger, I hardly liked anything. 10 years ago, you wouldn’t have caught me ever, I mean ever, even looking in the direction of sushi. I was ridiculously picky and refused most foods without even trying them, based purely on their looks alone. I didn’t even have ketchup until in my 20’s (Michelle can vouch for this one.) Maybe it’s my age, I don’t know, but now I try everything. Everything. (That’s probably why I haven’t lost the weight I still need to lose.) That doesn’t mean I like it all, but I at least give it a shot before turning it away. I bring all this up because my girls are at that stage of turning foods away without trying anything. A big rule in our home is that you HAVE to try, HAVE to. Even if it’s just a small try, but you can’t just say you don’t like it without making an attempt. Zoe will normally try anything with a little pushing, but India is a stubborn bug and I practically have to force feed her!!! Most of the time, she likes it once she’s tried it. I know the stuff they like and dislike and I’m not going to beg them to try something I know for sure that they will hate. I know that most kids are picky eaters and mine really aren’t that picky, but there’s gotta be a way to add more and different kinds of foods into their diets without such a battle… any ideas?

One thought on “Picky Schmicky.

  1. I would love to give advice, but I still am of the “if it looks ick and smells ick, chances are it will be ick and I don’t touch it. =) I still don’t eat tomatos, onions, mushrooms, peppers, or anything from the ocean.

Leave a Reply

