Weight schmeight. Diet Schmiet.

I HATE dieting.  I HATE exercising even more.  Constantly worrying about what I am eating and what I CAN”T eat, pisses me off.  I am always calculating in my head how many calories I just ate and how many more I have for the day.  Calories, Weight Watchers points, grams of fat… blah, blah, blah.  I just wanna eat, whatever I want, whenever I want.  I mean, I’m an adult now.  Can’t I just do what I want?

I tell myself that my focus on food is because I want to be healthy, which I do.  But seriously, it’s really about weight gain first and then my health.  Yes, I want to be healthy and spend years and years chasing my kids around and for that matter their kids, but it’s really about right now.  Right now, I just really really really don’t want to be fat.  I know that sounds horrible, but it’s true.  This brings me back to- Can’t I just do what I want?  Which, of course we all know the answer to that is… yes, I can do what I want, but it comes with a price.  It’s all about the consequences. 

I have already spent too much time today thinking about this subject.  But my morning always starts with picking the lowest caloried food item I can, so that I can eat a halfway decent sized lunch, so that I can eat an okay sized dinner.  Today isn’t any different from the day before, except that I was reading Summer’s blog Something to chew on and it got me thinking about the amount of effort us women put into diet and exercise.  The money and energy spent on diet pills, magazines, books, diet foods, etc…  Imagine what we could accomplish if this energy was spent elsewhere… we could totally balance the national budget or fix global warming or something spectacular like that… But this is it, this is what we’ll do and we’ll continue doing what we do, spending what we spend, and focusing on this crap for years to come.  

I guess I should just stop thinking about it now and get back to my Smart Ones Swedish Meatball lunch worth 5 points and my millionth gallon of water for the day.

2 thoughts on “Weight schmeight. Diet Schmiet.

  1. Doesn’t worrying about weight suck the big one? And what makes it even worse is that all the things that taste SO GOOD are SO BAD for us! It’s just not fair…

    Just keep plugging along and try not to get discouraged. Keep in mind that in the long run your body will love you for what you are doing now. And if I can offer one tiny piece of advice…don’t deprive yourself of any cravings you have. Just have enough to get rid of the craving but not enough to blow your diet. Hopefully that little bite that kills the craving will help keep you from going insane. 🙂

  2. HA!!! We could totally balance the budget on what we’ve all spent on dieting. I wish I had some words of advice, but all I can offer is encouragement. I can say this (and I need to try to listen to this too): We should try to shift our focus to making the healthy choices and getting healthier along the way, not just the most diet-friendly choices. Looking hot in a bathing suit will surely follow… 😉

Leave a Reply

