Maybe it’s me… It must be.

So, this week I read an Oprah Book Club recommendation,  The Road, by Cormac McCarthy.  I didn’t like it.  Not one little bit.  The reviews were wonderful for it though, which leaves me rather confused.  It was an easy read, the writing was good, and his descriptions were amazing, but holy hell it was depressing and dark and dreary.  Pages and pages and pages of dark and dreary, and oh do I mean pages and pages.  That’s totally not an exaggeration.  My friend Michelle was reading this same book when we last spoke and I was embarrassed to admit that I had just finished it and hated it.   I mean really, you should read the reviews, they go on and on about how inspiring the book is.  I didn’t see it.  Not even a little bit.  DEPRESSING.  SAD.  DARK.  And it ended that way too.  I am normally very forgiving of books and enjoy just about everything I read, but not so much this one.  I would recommend not wasting your time, unless ofcourse you enjoy that kind of thing, than have at it!

I’m going back to finishing the entire collection of Jodi Picoult’s books, thank you very much.  So far I’ve read 5 or 6 of her books in a row and she has yet to fail me.

2 thoughts on “Maybe it’s me… It must be.

  1. How funny. Jeff read The Road and loved it so much I ordered 2 other Cormac McCarthy books for him…he loved them all. Guess he likes the depressing stuff..I’m with you…give me Jodi Picoult over Cormac McCarthy anyday. Jeff thinks the majority of books I read are shit, goes to show you what he knows!

  2. I am so sorry you did not like it! I am about half way through it (I put it down to read The Pact) and I am enjoying it. It’s strange, but well written. I am liking the fact that I have no idea what the hell has happened to these two/ the world yet – it’s what’s keeping me hooked. I’ll let you know what I think once I’m done. I liked The Pact…but it really reminded me of Nineteen Minutes.

Leave a Reply

